Society Makes Me Sad

Everyday, I wake up and get dressed, as does everyone in the world. I don’t have a floor length mirror to look at myself in but I still look at myself and think, “I could afford to lose a few pounds”. Now, just for your information, I’m not fat or overweight and I’m not extremely skinny, I’m exactly at the body weight I should be. But I have a small pouch now and I don’t like it. I had a flat stomach once and I used to be really judgemental of the girls in my classes who had these pouches. Now I’m ashamed of what I thought.

I’m saying all this because there are beautiful people out there and there are ugly people out there. But body weight shouldn’t factor into those labels. Character should; instead, however, bad behavior, at least in celebrities, is noticed and, through media coverage, is sometimes unintentionally encouraged.

But I’m not going to ramble on about this. All I wished to say that someone who looks ugly can become the most beautiful person to you if you just give them the time to express themselves.

P.S. This post was inspired by LoudThoughtsVoicedOut’s post on society.

Leave a Reply

